BCCI Prize Money Comparison: Dhoni’s Team vs Rohit Sharma’s 2024 T20 World Cup Winners

BCCI Prize Money comparison between MS Dhoni’s victorious teams and Rohit Sharma’s champions.

Following Rohit Sharma’s side’s victory in the T20 World Cup 2024, the BCCI guaranteed the Indian team, support personnel, and coaching staff a monetary award of INR 125 core.

BCCI Prize Money Comparison: Dhoni’s Team vs Rohit Sharma’s 2024 T20 World Cup Winners
India won the T20 World Cup for the first time in 2007 and again in 2024. Photo Credit: X/Twitter

The Indian cricket team defeated South Africa in the final to cap up their successful T20 World Cup 2024 campaign. The 2013 Champions Trophy victory was the team’s last, and the outcome enabled Rohit Sharma’s team snap an 11-year streak without an ICC championship.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), thrilled with the outcome, declared a substantial award for the Indian team and its support personnel, allocating INR 125 crore for the winning 42-member delegation that traveled to the United States and the West Indies.

However, what is the difference between BCCI’s prize for the T20 World Cup 2024 campaign and the team’s past ICC crowns won under MS Dhoni’s guidance?

Following Team India’s Champions Trophy victory in 2013, the BCCI declared that each player will receive a prize money of Rs 1 crore. The support workers received a salary of Rs 30 lakh apiece that time.

Prior to that, at the 2011 ODI World Cup, the board had announced that the players would receive a prize money of Rs 1 crore each; however, this amount was later revised to Rs 2 crore apiece. Selectors received incentives of Rs 25 lakh each, while support workers received payments of Rs 50 lakh.

Also Read: Virat Kohli’s T20 World Cup Instagram Post Breaks Asian Records, Surpasses Bollywood Couple’s Milestone

A total of INR 12 crore was awarded to the Indian squad after they won the 2007 ICC World T20.

How will the prize money for the T20 World Cup 2024 be distributed?

Each of the 15 players selected for the Indian team for the T20 World Cup 2024 would receive INR 5 crore in prize money, according to a story published in the Indian Express. Players who did not participate in any games during the event are included in this list. The four reserves will receive Rs. 2.5 crore apiece in addition to them.

Like the players in the first team, India’s head coach Rahul Dravid will receive a cash award of Rs. 5 crore. His coaching staff will each receive one crore rupees.

The pay for backroom employees, such as physiotherapists and throwdown specialists, is Rs. 2 crore per person. The selectors get a share of Rs 1 crore apiece.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *