Frenkie de Jong Ruled Out of Euro 2024 Due to Ankle Injury: Impact on Netherlands Team

Netherlands midfielder Frenkie de Jong’s Euro 2024 participation has been abruptly halted due to an ankle injury, announced by the Dutch soccer association.

This setback significantly impacts the Netherlands team’s prospects in the upcoming European Championship.

The Barcelona player’s availability for Euro 2024 in Germany was declared by the Dutch soccer organization following Ronald Koeman’s team’s 4-0 victory over Iceland in their final warm-up. On Monday, De Jong observed from the sidelines in Rotterdam. Koeman stated, “He won’t be healthy enough to play at this level for the next three weeks.” “It serves no purpose to have him here.”

Frenkie de Jong Ruled Out of Euro 2024 Due to Ankle Injury: Impact on Netherlands Team
Frenkie de Jong. Photo Credit: Hindustan Times

Tests “showed that the ankle is not yet sufficiently resilient,” which put an end to De Jong’s aspirations of participating, according to a statement from Netherlands officials.

Afterwards, Koeman will determine if to summon a substitute. Tijjani Reijnders, a midfielder for AC Milan, filled in for De Jong on Monday.

Teun Koopmeiners, another midfield player, suffered an injury during the warm-up for the Icelandic game, making him questionable for the competition. While waiting for the test results, which are anticipated on Tuesday, Koeman stated, “I have a bad feeling.”

The 1988 European champions, the Netherlands, begin their Group D campaign on Sunday in Hamburg against Poland. They then play World Cup runner-up France and Austria to round off the group stage.

Following injuries sustained during Poland’s 2-1 warm-up victory against Turkey on Monday, attackers Robert Lewandowski and Karol Swiderski were ruled out of the 2024 European Championship.

Also Read: List of Top 20 Football Players in the World 2024

Euro 2024

Euro 2024, officially known as the UEFA European Football Championship 2024, is a major international football tournament organized by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA). It is the 17th edition of the UEFA European Championship and is scheduled to be held in Germany from June 14 to July 14, 2024.

The tournament features 24 national teams from across Europe competing in a series of matches to determine the continental champion. The qualifying process involves teams competing in various groups and knockout stages to secure their place in the final tournament.

Euro 2024 promises exciting football action, showcasing the talents of top European players and teams as they battle for glory on the international stage. The tournament venues include iconic stadiums across Germany, providing fans with unforgettable moments and thrilling matches.

Football enthusiasts eagerly anticipate Euro 2024, anticipating intense rivalries, spectacular goals, and memorable moments that define the essence of European football championships.

UEFA European Football Championship winners (1960-2021)

  • 1960: Soviet Union
  • 1964: Spain
  • 1968: Italy
  • 1972: West Germany
  • 1976: Czechoslovakia
  • 1980: West Germany
  • 1984: France
  • 1988: Netherlands
  • 1992: Denmark
  • 1996: Germany
  • 2000: France
  • 2004: Greece
  • 2008: Spain
  • 2012: Spain
  • 2016: Portugal
  • 2020: Italy (due to COVID-19, the tournament was postponed to 2021)

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *