Australia Women Dominated Bangladesh Women to Clinch the ODI Series 3-0

Australia displayed dominance against Bangladesh in the ODI series, securing an emphatic eight-wicket victory in Dhaka.

Bangladesh was routed by Garth, Gardner, Perry, and Molineux, who bowled them out for 89 in 26.2 overs to secure the victory.

Australia Women Dominated Bangladesh Women to Clinch the ODI Series 3-0

Australia defeated Bangladesh 89 (Nigar 16, Garth 3-11, Gardner 3-25, Perry 2-17, Molineux 2-23) by eight wickets with 93 for 2 (Healy 33, Perry 27*, Mooney 21*, Rabeya 1-21).

Alyssa Healy won the toss and bowled without any hesitation, already up 2-0. And with just 24 on the board by the end of the eighth over, opening duo Kim Garth and Ellyse Perry dominated early on, dismissing the top three batsmen, Fargana Hoque (5), Sumaiya Akter (0), and Murshida Khatun (8).

Bangladesh lost wickets frequently during the innings and never got back, eventually being bowled out for 89 in 26.2 overs.

Although Australia bowled 14 wides, which helped extras end as the top-scorer with 20, it might have been worse for Bangladesh. With 16, Captain Nigar Sultana was the next best performer out of 39 deliveries.

Garth won Player-of-the-Match after coming back in place of Megan Schutt, who had been rested. Ash Gardner, Perry, and Sophie Molineux offered strong support as Garth grabbed 3 for 11 in seven overs.

Australia reached 93 for 2 in 18.3 overs without much delay thanks to the contributions of Healy (33 in 34 balls), Perry (27 not out in 28), and Beth Mooney (21 not out in 22).

Healy, leg before to Rabeya Khatun, and Phoebe Litchfield, caught and bowled by Sultana Khatun for twelve, were the two wickets to fall.

Given her performances in the first few games, Gardner’s three-wicket haul earned her the title of Player-of-the-Series. In the first ODI, she made 32 and claimed 3 for 22, and in the second, she made an undefeated 20 and claimed 2 for 22.

Australia will now play three Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) against Bangladesh. The first match is scheduled on Sunday, March 31, with the remaining two matches taking place on Tuesday, April 2, and Thursday, April 4. Every match will take place in Dhaka.

Also Read: MCG to Host Landmark Women’s Ashes Test 

Also Read: Improving Depth and Performance in New Zealand Cricket

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *