BPL 2024: Fortune Barishal Clinches Maiden BPL Title with Tamim and Mayers Leading Charge

Fortune Barishal claimed their inaugural BPL title by defeating Comilla Victorians with a convincing six-wicket victory.

Earlier, James Fuller claimed two wickets to limit Comilla to 154, which Barishal raced down in 19 overs.

BPL 2024: Fortune Barishal Clinches Maiden BPL Title with Tamim and Mayers Leading Charge

Comilla Victorians 154 for 6 (Ankon 38, Russell 27*, Fuller 2-43) lost to Fortune Barishal 157 for 4 (Mayers 46, Tamim 39, Moeen 2-28, Mustafizur 2-31) by six wickets.

Good fortune Barishal defeated the formidable Comilla Victorians by a commanding six-wicket margin, raising their first BPL trophy high above the Mirpur din. They had a significant lead thanks to Barishal‘s bowling, and they were able to easily chase down the 155 target with the aid of captain Tamim Iqbal and Kyle Mayers.

It took a unique effort to stop Comilla, who had won the BPL championship a record four times, including the last two years. After Mayers struck in the first over, James Fuller used the ball well, taking two vital wickets. In their eight overs, Taijul Islam and Obed McCoy also exerted control, limiting Comilla to 154 for 6.

In response, Tamim’s 26-ball 39 amused the crowded Shere Bangla National Stadium. Following Mehidy Hasan Miraz’s six over square leg against Rohanat Doullah Borson, Tamim blasted Tanvir Islam for two straight sixes to take the lead in the tournament’s top scorer. After Tamim matched Miraz to hit his second six off Sunil Narine, Tamim sank Moeen Ali for two fours and a six. Not before he and Mehidy had put up 76 runs for the first wicket, he fell later in the same over.

Mayers was the one who had to get Barishal closer to the trophy. He hit two sixes and five fours off Andre Russell, who was bowled out for 21 in the fifteenth over. Mayers finished with 46 off 30 balls after getting 20 of those.`

In the last moments, Comilla committed many fielding mistakes that resulted in catches being lost. In the 19th over, Barishal was finally brought home by Mahmudullah and David Miller.

Sunil Narine had an early start in life when Comilla was ordered to bat first. He was dropped by Obed McCoy at third man, but he recovered later in the over. Narine swung one off his hips, but McCoy finished a wonderful catch at short fine-leg by diving to his left.

When Fuller pulled Litton Das and Towhid Hridoy in back-to-back overs on the powerplay, he increased the pressure. Johnson Charles was soon eliminated by McCoy, while Mehidy Hasan Miraz’s direct hit from point blank ended Moeen Ali’s run.

BPL 2024: Fortune Barishal Clinches Maiden BPL Title with Tamim and Mayers Leading Charge

Comilla was kept going in the middle overs by Mahidul Islam Ankon and Jaker Ali, but their 36 runs for the sixth wicket required 29 balls. For Barishal, being able to retain Andre Russell in the locker room for an extended period of time was invaluable.

After Ankon was dismissed by Saifuddin in the 17th over, Russell had just 3.2 overs left to complete his task. In the 14 balls he faced, he hit four sixes, but in the last over, he was unable to get Saifuddin out. Despite giving up three wides and a no-ball, the all-rounder only managed seven runs in the over.

More significantly, Comilla may have continued to gain momentum in the innings if Saifuddin hadn’t let up a four or a six.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *