Cristiano Ronaldo Laments Portugal’s Euro 2024 Exit After France Defeat

Cristiano Ronaldo, the Portuguese team’s captain, voiced his displeasure, saying they thought they should have received more from the competition.

Portugal’s participation in Euro 2024 came to an end as they lost 5-3 on penalties in a heartbreaking quarterfinal match against France.

Cristiano Ronaldo Laments Portugal’s Euro 2024 Exit After France Defeat
Cristiano Ronaldo after France eliminated Portugal from the 2024 European Championship. Photo Credit: AFP

Cristiano Ronaldo, the captain of Portugal, claimed that his team deserved more from the competition following their quarterfinal loss to France, which resulted in their elimination from the current Euro 2024. Portugal, captained by Cristiano Ronaldo, was eliminated from the current Euro 2024 tournament following their devastating defeat to France. Portugal held the score at zero until the end of regulation time, but in the penalty shootout, Joao Felix missed one and Portugal lost by a score of five to three.

Ronaldo claimed that Portugal should have received more at the current Euro 2024 on his official X account. He continued by saying that his group is appreciative of everything the supporters have done for them. The five-time Ballon d’Or winner declared that Portugal will uphold and expand its legacy.

“We were hoping for more. We were due for more. For us. For every single one of you. Regarding Portugal. We are appreciative of everything you have provided for us as well as everything we have accomplished thus far. I have no doubt that this heritage will be upheld and developed both on and off the field. Combinedly,” Ronaldo posted on X.

For Ronaldo, the 2024 Euro Cup has been discouraging because, despite participating in all five games, he was unable to score a goal. But he only kept one assist.

Portugal dominated France in their quarterfinal match in Hamburg. In all, Ronaldo’s team maintained 60% of the ball possession.

The game went to penalties after 120 minutes of play in which neither team was able to score. Joao Felix of Portugal was the lone player to miss the penalty, which put Roberto Martinez’s team on the defensive. The French team won the game 5-3 on penalties later in the contest.

Also Read: England’s Victory Over Switzerland in Penalty Shootout Secures Them Euro 2024 Semi Final Spot

Here is a list of UEFA European Championship winners since its inception:

1960: Soviet Union
1964: Spain
1968: Italy
1972: West Germany
1976: Czechoslovakia
1980: West Germany
1984: France
1988: Netherlands
1992: Denmark
1996: Germany
2000: France
2004: Greece
2008: Spain
2012: Spain
2016: Portugal
2020: Italy

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *