FIFA World Cup Winner List of all Time 1930-2022

Argentina wins the FIFA World Cup 2022 in Qatar. Have a look at this article to view the FIFA World Cup All-Winners List from 1930 to 2022.

The greatest international football competition, the men’s FIFA World Cup, showcases the best national teams in competition. Since football is thought to be the most popular sport in the world, enormous crowds attend the FIFA World Cup, which is held every four years.

FIFA World Cup

History of FIFA World Cup


    1. The competition was arranged by FIFA (Federation Internationale de Football Association), the global body that oversees football, which was founded in 1904. There was a football match at the 1920 Antwerp Olympics that qualified as an intercontinental match.

    1. As a result, the inaugural FIFA World Cup was held in 1930. Uruguay was a courteous host nation, as seen by their celebration of 100 years of independence and their gold medals from the 1924 and 1928 Olympics. Uruguay, the winners of the first FIFA World Cup, went on to win the trophy at home after defeating Argentina 4–2 in the final.

    1. Italy went on to win the next two FIFA World Cups in 1934 and 1938, becoming the first nation to successfully defend its title.

    1. West Germany won its first FIFA World Cup championship in 1954, while Uruguay won their second trophy in 1950.

    1. Brazil is the most successful team in FIFA history, having won the tournament five times. Additionally, they are the only country to have earned a spot in every one of the 21 FIFA World Cups.

    1. England proceeded to win their first and only FIFA World Cup championship in 1966. After helping England overcome West Germany 4-2 on Sunday, Geoff Hurst of England became the only player to score a hat-trick in a FIFA World Cup final with three goals.

    1. Pele and Brazil captured their third title in 1970. With three World Cup victories, Pele is the player with the most. Brazil’s final World Cup trophy was won in 2002.

    1. Thanks to the skill of the late Diego Maradona, Argentina won its second championship in 1986 after taking home the trophy in 1978.

    1. Then, in 1998, a new FIFA World Cup winner was crowned as France, captained by Didier Deschamps, triumphed over Brazil in the final to earn their first-ever home win.

    1. Didier Deschamps is the only individual to have won the title as both a player and manager. Deschamps led the French team to victory in the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

    1. German striker Miroslav Klose holds the record for most goals scored in a FIFA World Cup with 16 goals between 2002 and 2014.

    1. With 13 goals in 1958, Just Fontaine of France still maintains the record for most goals scored in a single FIFA World Cup.

Previous Winners

The Football World Cup is globally organized by FIFA. It is contested by the senior men national teams of FIFA member nations. Every four years since its inception in 1930, the FIFA competition has taken place. In 1942 and 1946, it was avoided due to the Second World War.

The rise in international contests that followed the turn of the 20th century led to the creation of FIFA. The growing rivalry among European football elites made them feel that a governing body was needed, and so the seven founding members met in Paris to debate the future of the game, with French journalist Robert Guerin serving as their leader. From 1904 until 1906, Guerin presided as FIFA’s first president. Jules Rimet and seven other individuals oversaw FIFA for 33 years, from 1921 to 1954.

The FIFA World Cup champions, Argentina, declared victory in the 2022 competition, which took place in Qatar. This momentous occasion was the first time the World Cup was held in the winter to provide fans a break from Qatar’s scorching summer heat. It was also the first time that the competition had been held during the club football season.

Year Winners                  Runners-up Host country
1930 Uruguay Argentina Uruguay
1934 Italy Czechia Italy
1938 Italy Hungary France
1950 Uruguay Brazil Brazil
1954 Germany Hungary Switzerland
1958 Brazil Sweden Sweden
1962 Brazil Czechia Chile
1966 England Germany England
1970 Brazil Italy Mexico
1974 Germany Netherlands West Germany
1978 Argentina Netherlands Argentina
1982 Italy Germany Spain
1986 Argentina Germany Mexico
1990 Germany Argentina Italy
1994 Brazil Italy United States
1998 France Brazil France
2002 Brazil Germany South Korea, Japan
2006 Italy France Germany
2010 Spain Netherlands South Africa
2014 Germany Argentina Brazil
2018 France Croatia Russia
2022 Argentina France Qatar

According to reports, World War II forced the cancellation of the World Cup competitions in 1942 and 1946.

No of Wins for a Country

Country Total no. of Winner Year of Winning
Brazil 5 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002
Italy 4 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006
Germany 4 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014
Uruguay 2 1920, 1950
France 2 1998, 2018
Argentina 3 1978, 1986, 2022
England 1 1966
Spain 1 2010

FIFA World Cup Winner Prize Money 2022

FIFA World Cup Winner 2022: A whopping USD 42 million in prize money would be awarded to the FIFA World Cup 2022 champions. $30 million will go to the runner-up. The winners will, therefore, treasure the $72 million in prize money. Third-place club will receive $27 million, while fourth-place squad will receive $25 million.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *