ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Winners will Receive at least USD 2.45 million

Prize Money for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024:

The men’s T20 World Cup 2024 victors will walk away with a shiny trophy and the largest prize pool in the competition’s history—at least US$2.45 million. The tournament’s total prize money increased from $5.6 million in 2022 to $11.25 million this year, a more than twofold increase. This represents an almost $850,000 increase from the last T20 World Cup in Australia in 2022, where England took home the $1.6 million prize.

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Winners will Receive at least USD 2.45 million
Photo Credit: ESPNcricinfo Ltd

With the 20-team competition this year, the total prize money has more than doubled from $5.6 million in 2022 to $11.25 million. It also implies that the remaining teams will receive larger prize money.

The losing semi-finalists will receive $787,500 (up from $400,000 in 2022) each, while the runners-up will receive at least $1.28 million (up from $800,000 in 2022).

The teams that place ninth through twelfth will receive $247,500 each, and the remaining teams will receive $225,000 each. The other four Super Eight teams will each receive $382,500. In addition, the teams will receive $31,154 for each victory—apart from the two semifinals and the championship match.

“It is appropriate that the prize money for players reflects that this event is historic in so many ways,” ICC CEO Geoff Allardice said in a statement. “Hundreds of millions of fans around the world will be entertained by the players in what we’re hoping to be an Out of This World event.”

Also Read: T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2023

There are four groups of five teams each for the T20 World Cup 2024, which got underway on Saturday with the USA defeating Canada in the opening match.

Before the top eight teams advance to the Super Eight stage, where the four semi-finalists will be determined, there are forty first-round matches in all. The USA, Canada, India, Ireland, and Pakistan make up Group A. Australia, England, Namibia, Oman, and Scotland make up Group B.

Group D consists of Bangladesh, Nepal, the Netherlands, South Africa, and Sri Lanka, whereas Group C consists of the West Indies, Afghanistan, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, and Uganda. The final will take place in Bridgetown on June 29. The two semifinals will take place in Tarouba and Providence on June 27.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *