SL vs AFG: For the T20Is, Binura Fernando replaces the injured Dushmantha Chameera

The team has five spin-bowling options in addition to a seam quartet, one of them is the ambidextrous Kamindu Mendis.

In lieu of the injured Dushmantha Chameera, Sri Lanka has named left-arm fast bowler Binura Fernando for the forthcoming three-match Twenty20 International Series against Afghanistan. Other than that, the 16-man team is the same as the one that played Zimbabwe last month.

SL vs AFG T20I

After hurting his left quadricep during the first ODI between Afghanistan and Sri Lanka, which the latter won by 42 runs, Chameera has not played. In terms of rapid bowlers, his replacement, 6′ 7″ Binura, is a unique breed, but injury layoffs have also disrupted his time with the Sri Lankan national team.

When Sri Lanka played Australia in the T20 World Cup in October 2022, Binura was forced to leave the game after just five deliveries due to a hamstring injury. However, since getting healthy again, he has had a big impact on the franchise scene while playing for Jaffna Kings in the Lanka Premier League and Dambulla Aura in the Abu Dhabi T10, respectively.

Along with Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Thushara, and Matheesha Pathirana, Binura will form a seam quartet. Wanindu Hasaranga and Maheesh Theekshana will be in charge of the spin-bowling division, with Akila Dananjaya serving as backup. Other alternatives for spin are the offspinner Dhananjaya de Silva and the ambidextrous Kamindu Mendis.

However, the batting lineup has a familiar feel to it thanks to the inclusion of Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya, Charith Asalanka, Angelo Mathews, and Dasun Shanaka.

The first game of the three-match T20I series is set for February 17; the second and third games are slated for February 19 and 21, respectively. Every game will take place in Dambulla.

SL SQUAD: Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Maheesh Theekshana, Binura Fernando, Matheesha Pathirana, Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Thushara, Akila Dananjaya, Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nisasnka, Wanindu Hasaranga (c) and Charith Asalanka (vc).

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *