Australia’s NBA Stars Patty Mills and Jock Landale Lead 22-Man Squad for Paris 2024 Olympics

Coach Brian Goorjian has unveiled Australia’s 22-man squad for the upcoming Paris Olympics, featuring an impressive roster of NBA talents.

Coach Brian Goorjian’s team consists of ten NBA players, including Josh Giddey and Dyson Daniels.

Australia’s NBA Stars Patty Mills and Jock Landale Lead 22-Man Squad for Paris 2024 Olympics

An expanded 22-man roster for the Paris Olympics has been revealed, which includes 10 players—including Patty Mills, Joe Ingles, Josh Green, Dante Exuma, and Jock Landale—from Australia’s bronze medal-winning team from Tokyo 2020.

Coach Brian Goorjian’s team, which also features Josh Giddey and Dyson Daniels, consists of ten NBA players. In July, the team will undergo a cut to a final 12 players in preparation for the Games.

Ben Simmons, the point guard for the Brooklyn Nets, was left off the roster because he is currently recovering from back surgery. Although Simmons has never represented Australia in the Olympics, he stated that prior to his most recent injury, he had intended to compete in Paris.

The Boomers, the highest-finishing team from Oceania, qualified automatically for Paris despite finishing in tenth place at the 2023 FIBA World Cup.
As head coach, Goorjian will guide the Boomers to their fourth Olympics.

Goorjian declared on Thursday that “the World Cup in 2023 marked a new beginning for the Boomers.” “We’ve been actively monitoring the Australian players across international leagues in the U.S., Europe, and Asia as well as domestically in the NBL, and we’re confident in the potential chemistry of this list. We were able to introduce some new faces and identify areas that we needed to advance and improve.”

Australia’s Olympic participation will take place in Group A. Canada is now the only confirmed opponent it faces in that group.

Two more teams will be selected from qualifying events. Greece, Slovenia, New Zealand, Croatia, Egypt, and the Dominican Republic are among them. Spain, Lebanon, Angola, Finland, Poland, and the Bahamas are among them.

On July 27, Australia takes on the Spain qualifier. Eight of the twelve teams who competed in the group stage moved on to the medal round. The men’s gold medal final is slated to take place in Paris’ Bercy Arena on August 10.

The Olympic team for Australia consists of the following players: Dyson Daniels, Matthew Dellavedova, Xavier Cooks, Dante Exum, Sam Froling, Johnny Furphy, Josh Giddey, Chris Goulding, Josh Green, Joe Ingles, Nick Kay, Jock Landale, Will Magnay, Will McDowell-White, Jack McVeigh, Patty Mills, Keanu Pinder, Duop Reath, Matisse Thybulle, Dejan Vasiljevic, Jack White, and Rocco Zikarsky.

Also Read: Exploring The List Of Top 10 NBA Players Of All Time

Also Read: Anthony Edwards Leads Minnesota Timberwolves to Victory 130-121

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *