IPL Stats: Top 10 Highest Team Totals in Indian Premier League History

The focus of the Indian Premier League (IPL) have always been excellent individual and team performances.

The 2024 edition of the Indian Premier League will begin play on March 22, and the nation is getting ready for what seems to be another exciting season.

IPL Stats: Top 10 Highest Team Totals in Indian Premier League History

The opening game will take place in Chennai between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and the reigning champion Chennai Super Kings (CSK). The more modern the game gets, the easier it is to pull off seemingly impossible feats with the bat. Big scores haven’t always defined the IPL, but when teams win big, they really push the envelope. We examine the top ten highest team totals in IPL history in this post.

Top 10 Highest Team Totals in IPL History



Sl No.






Royal Challengers Bangalore


Pune Warriors India



Lucknow Super Giants


Punjab Kings



Royal Challengers Bangalore


Gujarat Lions



Chennai Super Kings


Rajasthan Royals



Kolkata Knight Riders


Kings XI Punjab



Chennai Super Kings


Kings XI Punjab



Chennai Super Kings


Kolkata Knight Riders



Royal Challengers Bangalore


Mumbai Indians



Mumbai Indians


Sunrisers Hyderabad



Gujarat Titans


Mumbai Indians


1. RCB VS PWI 263/5

When RCB played the now-defunct PWI in 2013, they set the record for the highest team total in IPL history. The M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru hosted the game. Thanks to a remarkable knock by Chris Gayle, the Royal Challengers Bangalore scored 263 runs while batting first. The West Indies batsman set a record by reaching his century in just 30 balls after scoring an undefeated 175 off just 66 deliveries. PWI was only able to score 133 runs in response, and RCB won the match by a margin of 130 runs.

2. LSG VS PK 257/5

With a score of 257-5 in their 20 overs, LSG holds the record for the second-highest total in IPL history. Marcus Stoinis scored 72 off just 40 balls, while opener Kyle Mayers scored 54 off 24 balls. The team passed the 250-run threshold with to cameos from Nicholas Pooran (45 off 19) and Ayush Badoni (43 off 24). In response, PBKS collapsed to a 56-run loss after being all out for 201.

3. RCB VS GL 248/3

Fans got to see one of the best partnerships in T20 cricket during this match. Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers tormented GL bowlers all over the park, putting up a 229-run partnership for the second wicket. ABD struck 129 off just 52 balls to be undefeated, while Kohli scored 109 off 55. Twenty sixes were scored in the innings by the combination of Kohli and ABD. GL were skittled out for a pitiful 104 in response. The game was won by RCB by a massive 144 runs.

4. CSK VS RR 246/5

2010 saw a high-scoring match between CSK and RR in Chennai’s M.A. Chidambaram Stadium. Murali Vijay scored an incredible 127 runs in just 56 balls while batting first for CSK, which amassed 246 runs on the board. Albie Morkel, an all-rounder from South Africa, reached a half-century. Naman Ojha and Shane Watson, in response, scored 94 (55 balls) and 60 (25 balls), respectively, posing a threat to the total. In the end, CSK prevailed by a score of 23 runs.

5. KKR VS KXIP 245/6

Another contest in which both sides scored more than 200 runs. After batting first, KKR amassed 245 runs thanks to fifty-score efforts from Sunil Narine and Dinesh Karthik. In 2018, Narine, a specialist opener for KKR, put up a brilliant performance, scoring 75 runs off just 36 balls to put the team on the fast track. Then-KKR skipper Karthik ignited the innings with a 23-ball fifty to help KKR reach 245 towards the end of the session. KXIP (now known as Punjab Kings) failed to reach the mark by 32 runs during the run chase.

6. CSK VS KXIP 240/6

In this game, Michael Hussey was the main attraction. CSK finished with the highest team total of the first edition, scoring 240 runs in 20 overs. Mike Hussey faced just 54 balls and stayed undefeated at 116 after entering at No. 3. Nine sixes and eight fours in his innings. Important cameos were also played by Subramaniam Badrinath (31* off 14) and Suresh Raina (32 off 13). James Hopes and Kumar Sangakarra fought it out alone in the second innings, each scoring fifty runs, but KXIP lost the match by 33 runs in the end.

Also Read: CSK Wins 2023 IPL Final to Crown Joint 5 Times Champions

Also Read: IPL Winners List From 2008 to 2024

7. CSK VS KKR 235/4

The middle-order destructor Ajinkya Rahane 2.0 was born during this match, making it memorable. Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway, who batted first, gave CSK a strong start when the latter scored 56. Following the departure of both openers, Rahane and Shivam Dube put on a show, scoring 85 runs in 32 balls together for the third wicket. Rahane was still undefeated at 71 off just 29 balls, but Dube went for a fifty-one from 21 balls. With fifty runs apiece, Jason Roy and Rinku Singh offered considerable opposition in the run chase, but KKR succumbed by a commanding 49 runs.

8. RCB VS MI 235/1

The entire event was put on by AB de Villiers. When these two teams faced off in 2015 at Wankhede Stadium, RCB took full advantage of the comparatively small size of the arena. Virat Kohli and ABD, particularly the latter, harassed the Mumbai Indians bowling team after the latter lost Chris Gaye for nothing in the fourth over. With scores of 82 and 133, respectively, Kohli and ABD both continued to be undefeated. The eventual 2015 champions were defeated by 39 runs because the score was too high for them.

9. MI VS SRH 235/9

In the last 2021 league match, MI played Sunrisers Hyderabad in Abu Dhabi. Ishan Kishan (84 off 32) and Suryakumar Yadav (82 off 40) put on brilliant performances that lifted MI to 235 runs at the conclusion of their 20 overs. Manish Pandey was the only player for SRH to hit a fifty as the team lost by a score of 42 runs.

10. GT VS MI 233/3

The Orange Cap winner for 2023, Shubman Gill, adorned the Narendra Modi Stadium with an exquisite century. Gill embarrassed an inexperienced MI bowling attack by scoring 129 off 60 balls. With just three wickets lost, GT amassed 233 runs and defeated the five-time champions by 62 runs. Mohit Sharma finished with a fifer to cap off a superb team effort.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *