Sydney Sixers Sign Amelia Kerr: Major WBBL 2025 Move for the Glory

Sydney Sixers have secured a multi-year contract with one of the world’s top allrounders, Amelia Kerr in a landmark move within the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL).

The New Zealander’s signing marks a significant coup under the WBBL’s new contracting rules, striking a heavy blow to their rivals, Brisbane Heat.

Sydney Sixers Sign Amelia Kerr: Major WBBL 2025 Move for the Glory
Amelia Kerr was a regular winner with the Brisbane Heat. • Getty Images

Amelia Kerr Joins Sydney Sixers

Amelia Kerr, ranked No. 2 among allrounders globally, has been a standout player for Brisbane Heat since 2019. Her impressive stats include 62 wickets with an economy rate of 6.42 over 58 matches. This strategic acquisition by the Sydney Sixers is made possible by the WBBL’s new rule allowing clubs to sign one player outside the overseas draft, facilitating long-term talent retention and competition with overseas leagues.

Kerr’s Decision and Its Impact

The 23-year-old allrounder cited family proximity as a key factor in her decision. Her sister Jess Kerr’s previous season with the Sixers influenced her move, making Sydney a more attractive base given the demanding cricket schedule.

“It was an extremely hard decision to leave Brisbane,” Kerr admitted. “The players and staff there have been nothing but good to me. But having close family in Sydney will make the time away from home much more enjoyable.”

Brisbane Heat’s Response

Brisbane Heat made a robust effort to retain Kerr, recognizing her value to the team. Joe Dawes, Queensland’s head of cricket, acknowledged the challenges of competing with personal factors like family proximity.

“We were keen to retain Melie and put a competitive offer to her,” Dawes stated. “However, we understand that being near family is important at this stage of her life. Our fans will be disappointed not to see her playing for Brisbane again, but we wish her all the best with the Sixers.”

Also Read: Changes to Australian Women’s T20 Competition Amidst Victoria and NSW Pressure


Amelia Kerr’s move to the Sydney Sixers under the new WBBL multi-year contracting system is a strategic shift that highlights the evolving dynamics of player contracts within the league. This change not only enhances the Sixers’ lineup but also underscores the importance of personal factors in professional sports decisions. As the WBBL continues to grow, such moves will likely become more common, reflecting both the competitive nature and the human side of the sport.

History of WBBL

The Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) is Australia’s premier Twenty20 domestic cricket competition for women. Here’s an overview of its history:

Origins and Establishment (2015-2016)

  • Inception: The WBBL was launched by Cricket Australia in 2015, modeled after the successful Men’s Big Bash League (BBL). The league aimed to promote women’s cricket and provide a platform for female cricketers to showcase their talent.
  • First Season: The inaugural season started in December 2015, featuring eight teams aligned with the existing BBL franchises. The teams were Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers, and Sydney Thunder.
  • Format: Each team played 14 matches in a round-robin format, followed by semi-finals and a final.
  • First Champions: Sydney Thunder won the first WBBL title, defeating Sydney Sixers in the final.

Growth and Expansion (2016-2019)

  • Increasing Popularity: The league quickly gained popularity, with increasing attendance and viewership each season. The WBBL played a crucial role in boosting the profile of women’s cricket in Australia.
  • Star Performers: International stars like Ellyse Perry, Meg Lanning, and overseas players such as Suzie Bates and Stafanie Taylor made significant impacts.
  • Notable Seasons:
    • WBBL|02 (2016-17): Sydney Sixers claimed their first title.
    • WBBL|03 (2017-18): Sydney Sixers defended their title successfully.
    • WBBL|04 (2018-19): Brisbane Heat emerged as champions for the first time.

Consolidation and Professionalism (2019-Present)

  • WBBL as a Standalone Tournament: From the 2019-20 season (WBBL|05), the WBBL was separated from the BBL schedule, allowing it to be played in its own dedicated window. This helped in increasing its visibility and following.
  • Broadcasting Milestones: All matches were made available for broadcast, with a significant number of games being televised live.
  • Continued Success:
    • WBBL|05 (2019-20): Brisbane Heat won their second consecutive title.
    • WBBL|06 (2020-21): Sydney Thunder won their second title, defeating Melbourne Stars in the final.
    • WBBL|07 (2021-22): Perth Scorchers won their maiden WBBL title.
    • WBBL|08 (2022-23): Adelaide Strikers won their first WBBL title.

Impact and Legacy

  • Role in Women’s Cricket: The WBBL has been instrumental in raising the standards of women’s cricket, providing young players with a pathway to the national team.
  • International Influence: The league has attracted top international talent, enhancing the competitive nature of the tournament.
  • Development of Players: The WBBL has played a vital role in the development of players who have gone on to achieve success at the international level for the Australian Women’s Cricket Team.

Future Prospects

  • Sustainability and Growth: The WBBL continues to grow in popularity and influence, with increasing investment in women’s cricket and expanding fanbase.
  • Global Influence: The league serves as a model for other countries looking to develop their women’s domestic cricket structures.

Overall, the WBBL has established itself as one of the leading women’s cricket leagues in the world, contributing significantly to the growth and professionalization of women’s cricket globally.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *